Nancy McClain Honorary Scholarship

The Weatherford Branch awards an annual $300 scholarship to a SWOSU student* who displays scholarly and extracurricular excellence plus is in need of financial support.


  1. Is enrolled at Southwestern Oklahoma State University and will graduate in the Spring, Summer, or Fall 2019
  2. Has a 2.00 or higher overall grade point average.
  3. Has participated in extracurricular activities and has shown evidence of leadership qualities.
  4. Needs financial assistance in order to complete a degree.
  5. Has interest in becoming an AAUW member upon graduation.

Is available to attend the Weatherford Branch AAUW Spring Luncheon at which the scholarship will be awarded…

*Special consideration will be given to: 1) active members of the AAUW Student Branch, and 2) “non-traditional” students – persons who are older than the typical student who begins college at eighteen.

Application Components:

  1. Biographical Information Form.
  2. TWO (2)recommendations.  No recommendations from relatives will be accepted.
  3. One (1) from an individual outside the university. 
  4. One (1) from a faculty member in your major academic department.
  5. Please direct your recommendation writers to the link on this webpage or forward the link.

Applications (biographical information & 2 recommendations) for the 2018-2019 academic year are due Tuesday, Janaury 22, 2019 at noon.  Recipients will be recognized at the Annual Branch Luncheon in March 2019.

Scholarship Committee members:

Read our press release of 2017’s scholarship recipients.